Murray & Associates (@murray_assoc) | Twitter

For the first time ever, the winning projects in this year’s ILI Design Awards will face a public vote to decide the People’s Choice Award. The 11th ILI Design Awards give recognition to exemplary landscape projects by ILI members in the Republic and Landscape Institute members from Northern Ireland (LINI) across a range of categories.

Winners of the Irish Landscape Institute Design Awards 2020 [plus Highly Commended and commended winners] in each category were announced early in October. President of the Irish Landscape Institute, Kevin Halpenny, stated that “Since its establishment, the ILI has raised standards of landscape design in Ireland. The Institute is committed to pioneering new approaches in Ireland to environmental planning and design. We are delighted that we have an internationally recognised judging panel to help select from world-leading projects. We welcome the support of our sponsors, Hardscape Ireland, Bord Bia, Hartecast, UCD, and OPW.”

The winning projects will be on display in St Stephens Green Dublin following the awards in October and November for the public to view and vote for their favourite project (People’s Choice Award) in cooperation with the Office of Public Works (OPW) and supported by Hardscape Ireland.

Category winners are as follows:


  • Public Park
    • Murray & Associates: Beckett Park, County Dublin
  • Public Plaza
    • Cathal O’Meara Landscape Architects: Entrances to County Cork
  • Streetscape
    • Bernard Seymour Landscape Architects: Dublin Landings
  • Residential Development
    • Dermot Foley Landscape Architects: Knockrabo County Dublin
  • Institutional Landscape
    • Bernard Seymour Landscape Architects: Kings Building, Dublin
  • Private Garden Joint Winners
    • REALISE: Grounded, Bloom in the Park, Dublin / Cathal O’Meara Landscape Architects: Natural Swimming Pool, County Cork
  • Heritage Landscape
    • The Paul Hogarth Company: Hillsborough Castle Gardens, County Down
  • Overseas Projects
    • Murray & Associates: Santander Digital Hub, Milton Keynes, UK


  • Landscape Theory, Policy & Management – Bernard Seymour Landscape Architects: Parnell Square Cultural Quarter, Dublin
  • Diane Nickels Memorial Award – Peter Hutchinson, Belfast: Travelogue La Rochelle
  • Landscape Planning – AIT Urbanism: North East Inner City Greening Strategy, Dublin
  • Research Projects and Publications – Peter Hutchinson, Belfast: Journals in Publications


  • Student Award – John McCord


  • Jury Award for Resilience & Climate Change Adaptation
    • The Paul Hogarth Company: Hillsborough Castle Gardens, Co Down
  • Presidents Choice Award
    • Murray & Associates: Beckett Park, County Dublin



  • Noel Farrer LA PPLI – UK Director, Farrer Huxley Associates / CHAIR of the judging panel
  • Emily Smyth – Former Head of School of Landscape Architecture, Ulster University/ Past Co Chair LINI
  • Kim Wilkie – Consultant Landscape Architect & Author
  • Lily Jencks – Landscape Architect and Author
  • Élizabeth Fournier – Hortis France / Vice Chair World Urban Parks
  • Mark Camley – Director, London Legacy
  • Kathryn Moore – CFLI IFLA President / Professor of Landscape Architecture, Birmingham City University
  • Dr. Christy Boylan – Former President Irish Landscape Institute
  • Torgeir Sorensen – Parks Manager, City of Stavanger
  • Wendy Barrett – Architect / Honorary Member of ILI
  • Peter Nickels – Architect
  • Marina Cervera – Landscape Architecture Office, Architects Association of Catalonia / Professor of Landscape Architecture, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya


  • UCD